Thursday, August 11, 2011

Stupid Car Question?

I'm basically car engine illiterate, so I apologize if this is a stupid question. I drive a 2002 Pontiac Grand Prix. A few days ago I spilled a little bit of oil as I was adding some. It resulted in a small fire as the engine was hot. Instinctively, I threw flour on the fire to smother the flames. It worked, but I ended up with flour residue burnt to some of the pipes of the engine...made it smell like flour was burning when I drove it. I bought some engine degreaser, sprayed it on, let it set, and rinsed it off. Then I started the car about 30-45 minutes later and there was a bit of smoke coming out, of the engine compartment, and it smelled like the degreaser and there was a sizzling sound, which i'm uming was because the pipes were still wet. I'm uming this is normal and that it is safe to drive. Is this a safe umption or is this something i should be concerned about? Thanks!

No comments:

Post a Comment